Coffee

I'd like to make you coffee, watching
as you stir, foam balanced on your lip
waiting as you sip, gulp and then again - sip
Or when you're away or at work,
I daydream of the cigarettes and chitter-chatter
that accompany your warm mug, of the mundane that matters
I like the questions - sugar? - milk? -
and the answers I don't know by heart, yet,
for I see your soul in your eyes, and I forget
Arabica, Robusta, Chemex, Canephora, Kappi,
I love coffees brews. What kind would you like? I say
as long as it's with you, I'd love it any way,
As the blooms burst to beans
with the roasted aroma wafting across Chikmanglur,
I am yours & infatuated, sipping coffee & never unsure
For and inspired by Carol Ann Duffy. I'll tell her how & why in person.
And for the S.O. Who makes better coffee than I do & for giving me the chance for the above. 
2 thoughts on “Coffee

Leave a Reply

