goodnight and goodluck

Good riddance, 2010. Painful year, yes you. Im so glad you’re over, for once, I have no clue how to put it down in words. You made my life a living hell for the first half of you, and just when I was beginning to get used to your ill-treatment, and revelling in the dramatic misery of you, you brought stability and snow and glorious life-altering change.

If years were genders, which Im sure they are, then you were most definitely a man. Bastard. No woman has ever played with my emotions like that. I have never been happier than at the exact minute you died and 2011 was born. I already love 2011. It feels like a shinier, more stable year. A year I want to do useful things for.

This will be the year I keep my ideal (according to that BMI thing) weight and continue on the good path of bread, butter, cheese, chicken and wine.
This will not be the year I quit smoking. But possibly it will be the year I cut down by (mostly and maybe) sharing cigarettes with the S.O
This will be the year I travel, alone if I have to – and not use Schengen’s and unenthusiastic company as excuses.
This will be the year I continue to dance like I haven’t since I was 16. Also, the year I convince the S.O to jive with me more often.
This will be the year I stop examining and evaluating everything I do, and pay attention to the post-it on my bookshelf, “Dont think, just do”.
This will be the year I will write everyday, and not just haphazard doodles strewn under and over table tops or submissions with word limits and page numbers.
This will be the year I really master the art of french cooking.
This will not be the year I stop swearing – mainly because my primary target is the S.O and according to him, it suits my size. A logic I am more than willing to accept. Go figure.
This will be the year I cleanse-tone-moisturise every morningnight, no matter how hungover I am. Or I will turn 22 looking like an old hag, thanks to the cold&cigarettes.
This will be the year I spend more time with my classmates talking about books. Ive learnt more from wine-addled & caffeine-comatosed booktalk with them than any class this semester.
This will be the year I let go of the past and recognize the evils, pettiness and uselessness of Facebook stalking.
This will be the year I don’t get annoyed. And learn to gulp pointless anger down. Without needing to resort to yoga.

This will be the year I don’t let a year dictate my happiness or state of mind.

Shine on 2011, you make…little difference to Mappings & I, on hindsight and practicalsight. But we are glad you are here, all the same.

Leave a Reply

